Ledbury and the Majestic Malverns
Ledbury in the east of the county, is one of England's text book market towns, full of prime examples of timber-framed buildings. The 17th century black & white Market House, which had originally served as a grain store dominates the town centre,and is supported on pillars of chestnut.it was completed in 1653 by John Abel, the Kings carpenter, another fine example of black & white architecture is The Feather's Hotel on the High Street.
Church Lane is a much photographed cobbled medieval street containing the Heritage centre, Butchers Row Folk Museum and the Painted Room leading to a fine Parish Church.
St Micheals is Herefordshire's finest parish Church - the massive detached spire is 200 - feet high. in the spring, there is an English Festival to mark St George's Day and Ledbury's prestigious Poetry Festival is held each July with Ledbury being the home of three famous poets John Masefield, the poet Laureate, elizabeth barret-Browning and William Langland.
Winner of Britain in Bloom competitions, the town is proud of its contribution to welcoming visitors to the whole area of east Herefordshire. Ledbury has easy access to the motorway network and main line railway.
With hops and orchards, vineyards and country pubs, the area also includes the magnificent, mock-gothic Eastnor Castle. A major visitor attraction with mediaeval armour, fine art and tapestries, the grounds include a Knight's Maze, Children's Playground and lakeside and woodlands walks.
The Malvern Hills unlimited walking opportunities and spectacular all-round views.
The Malvern Hills in the east of the country are unrivalled in all England for the drama of their 9-mile long outline, they were a great inspiration for the truly English composer, Sir Edward Elgar. His many hobbies included golf and cycling and whilst living in Herefordshire composed some of his most inspirational music. A statue is planned to honour his memory and you can follow the Elgar Route to experience what he enjoyed.
The historic Hellens Manor is a living monument to much of England's history from 1096 and includes haunted rooms and the famous Stone Hall with great fireplace bearing the Black Prince's crest.
At Bishops Frome, the Hop Pocket Crafts Centre includes a selection of small outlets and the Frome Valley Vineyard offers tasting's of English Table Wines.
Family enjoyment in the countryside is on offer at Newbridge Farm Park and Shortwood Family Farm with an opportunity to have hands-on experience in talking to the animals!